Torch Trophy Trust Awards Nominations open

The Torch Trophy Trust, founded in 1962 to recognise the many unsung heroes in sport, is launching this year’s Annual Torch Trophy Trust Awards, in five categories:

1 New young volunteer
2 “Enabler” in mainstream activity
3 Outstanding service
4 Contribution to inclusivity
5 Support for disability sport

In considering awards, the Trust is looking for:

  • Outstanding volunteers in sport and recreation who have received no national recognition; or 
  • Individuals who have given up their time in a voluntary capacity for a number of years to enable others in the community to participate; or
  • Young people who are making a significant contribution to the grass roots of your organisation’s activity on a voluntary basis.

Nominations should be sent by 9th December, using the downloadable form, to:

Torch Trophy Trust
4th Floor
Burwood House
14-16 Caxton Street

The Trust anticipates that successful nominees will receive their awards from a member of the royal family.

Further information about Torch Trophy Trust can be found at 

Enquiries should be directed to Eleanor Newton on 020 7976 3932 or at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 

Under-18 Boys International Trialists

The following players have been selected by English Schools' FA to represent the South-East region in an International Trial match against the South West at Thatcham Town FC on 19th November:

Daniel Gould (Bedfordshire)
Fintan Walsh (Sussex)
Sam Mvemba (Essex)
Sam McCallum (Kent)
Mohammed Rahman (Bedfordshire)
Adam Crowther (Hertfordshire)
Ethan Madden (Kent)
Kyle Ajayi (Bedfordshire)
Enock Soganile (Essex)
Robert Deda (Sussex)
Tabuki Bunya (Sussex)
Ethan Barton (Hertfordshire)
Tom Barton (Kent)
Charlie Scott (Bedfordshire)
Ben Allen (Kent)
Daniel Broughton (Buckinghamshire)
Karol Wengrzik (Norfolk)
Emmanuel Paulker (Sussex)

This is a significant step on the journey towards representing England Schoolboys with outstanding performers in the Trial moving forward to the final trial - North v South - early in 2018.

The Association congratulates all of the players selected to represent the region and wishes them every success on 19th November.

U15 Girls Squads announced

The following players have been selected by English Schools' FA to represent the South-East in the second round of trials for the Under-15 Girls International Squad:

  1. Kiya Webb (Buckinghamshire) (GK)
  2. Charlotte Casey (Kent)
  3. Millie Thistleton (Kent)
  4. Abbie Jackson (Essex)
  5. Keanne Jervier (Essex)
  6. Ruby Hughes (Inner London)
  7. Chanelle Gainsford (Sussex)
  8. Josephine Jarvis (Norfolk)
  9. Sienna Sherman-Botten (Essex)
  10. Lily Walsh (Inner London)
  11. Leyla O’Brien (Hertfordshire)
  12. Lauren Hart (Essex)
  13. Jessie Burke (Essex) (GK)
  14. Melia La (Essex)
  15. Charli O’Connor (Inner London)
  16. Rebecca Bagge (Kent)
  17. Tallulah Holly (Kent)

The squad will now play against the South-West on 12th November in the next stage of the selection process. The North will play the Midlands on the same day. 

It is a significant achievement to be selected for an ESFA Regional Squad; the SEESFA Council congratulates all of the successful players and wishes them the best of luck for their trial match.